Many people today are choosing to travel to other countries.

Why is this happening?

Is this a positive or negative development?

Never has traveling been a so common activity among people as it is now. While the motivations behind this experience are varied, I believe that it is utterly positive for society because it brings a number of benefits.

People pay a visit to other countries for many reasons. Firstly, when their standards of life increase in correspondence with their income, traveling seems to be a good source of pastime to spend holidays. It is not unknown, for example, that traveling to degust expensive food is many celebrities’ and businessmen’s favorite hobby. Secondly, traveling is a golden opportunity for people to explore unique and untouched parts of the world; it is full of ancient civilizations, mysteries, natural beauties that lure people. From my personal experience, my visit to the Grand Canyon has fueled my desire to see the Niagara Falls. Finally, there might be a medical motive behind people’s travels. Because of the limited medical expertise to cure certain illnesses, for instance, people have no choice but to travel to other countries to remedy their situation.

I believe that this experience is fully positive for the society for several reasons. Initially, people’s familiarity with other cultures’ traditions and norms of behavior make them more readily accept differences and become less prejudiced; say, by acknowledging different styles of clothes. In addition to this, having made a visit to wonderful places in the world, tourists will live with lasting impressions about them for the rest of their lives. Ultimately, this traveling allows patients to take advantage of advanced healthcare. Because of these advantages, despite the huge expenses involved, I think traveling is a positive development for society.

In conclusion, not only do people travel for personal reasons, but also for health reasons. In my opinion, this is a wholly positive development due to the benefits mentioned above.