Many people in today’s world are still suffering poor sanitation and waste management. What are the causes and effects of this reality?

It is undeniable that nowadays in many countries, the residents are facing a serious sanitation and hygiene crisis. There are some rationales that can be put forward to explain this detrimental phenomenon, and there are severe social and national impacts.

There are two obvious reasons which make it difficult to live in a hygienic environment. Firstly, remote rural habitants are not provided with sufficient education to be highly aware of the importance of good sanitation. Although the world has turned into the most advanced era, 2 billion people still do not have basic sanitation facilities such as toilets or latrines according to the World Health Organization. Secondly, there is a common perception that just a little action does not cause big trouble. Because many people are so opinionated that they still bear in mind this unethical notion, they could not stop their wrongdoings until it becomes a global catastrophe.

The consequences for society and national security will be inevitable if people keep underestimating the importance of sanitation and hygiene. From the perspective of society, public health will negatively be affected. Good sanitation and waste management is the first to-do to live a healthy life, otherwise it will lead to the outbreak of a number of epidemics such as cholera and typhoid. In terms of national security, it reduces human’s well-being, social and economic development due to impacts such as anxiety, risk of sexual assault, and lost educational opportunities.

All in all, some reasons can be identified for poor management of waste and the serious effects on society and national security must not be underestimated. Therefore, we need to take actions together to minimize those negative impacts.