Many people try to balance work and other parts of their life. However, this is very difficult to do. What are the problems associated with this? What is the best way to achieve a better balance?

Work-life balance is something that most people aim for, but it is indeed a massive undertaking. As it is by no means an easy task, many people fail to achieve it. In this essay, I will outline several reasons behind this situation and suggest several possible ways to help people strike a balance between work and life.

There are a variety of causes of the failure to achieve work-life balance. Firstly, in the light of fiercer competition among companies, many workers are forced to work extra hours to maximize profits, which may cause them to struggle to spend time on recreational activities. Furthermore, many workers, in fact, are willing to handle the heavier workloads to make more money. Finally, we currently live in a materialistic society where the priorities of many people are cash, possessions, and status. Thus, to reach these goals, people often participate in the pursuit of wealth, and so they spend most of their time working instead of on other aspects of their lives.

However, several measures could be implemented to mitigate work-life imbalance. One possible solution is that enterprises should extend holiday entitlement to enable their staff to alleviate stress. By going on holiday, workers could escape from the hectic pace of urban life, rejuvenate themselves, and be ready to go back to work. Another feasible remedy is to spend more time with families and friends. If people arrange a specific time of the weekend to strengthen family bonds or to cement friendships, they may temporarily forget their materialistic pursuits and realize that family bonding and friendship create more lasting happiness. In these ways, I believe that people can have a balance between work and life.

In conclusion, work-life imbalance stems predominantly from the willingness to work overtime to pursue material values. However, people can tackle this problem by spending more time with their family members and friends.