In many schools and universities, girls tend to choose art subjects (eg. languages) and boys choose science subjects (eg. Physic). What do you think are the reasons? Do you think that this tendency should be changed?

It is said that in both post-primary schools and colleges, female students prefer studying social courses, meanwhile, science subjects are male students’ choice. This essay explores several causative agents of this phenomenon as well as supports that students should have their own decisions in choosing their educational programs.

Gender is considered at first as the reason why this trend happens. Because of owning more sensitive and vulnerable characteristics than boys, girls are frequently keen on doing activities which are relevant to creativity and beauty. By the way of illustration, due to the surveys of the experts in Oxford University in 2010, it was noticeable that 95% of interviewed females voted for art, craft and music activities whereas it accounted for 90% of male students decided on sports and humorous experiments which would be held in their summer vacation.

Secondly, there is no doubt that the traditional stances result in this tendency. Women are suggested that counting on man, giving birth, doing household chores or light pieces of work, which apparently suit for their ability. Additionally, were men to expect to become a talented and well-doing host, they should take care all of heavy works and overcome every challenge occurring in their life. This belief lead to the difference in choosing subjects between two genders since male students should study science programs instead of artworks.

However, in the modern life, this point of view turns not to be sensible and possible. Students have their own right to desire what they want to study, which could not be influenced because of gender. Moreover, despite different physical characteristics, every educational program, such as official drawing class, possibly completely suits for both boys and girls, and somehow, male do better than female.

In conclusion, the traditional social stereotypes of choosing subjects is no longer relevant nowadays. Students would achieve success only if they could make their own option instead of conforming to others’ view