Many students choose to take a gap year before starting university to travel or gain work experience Do you think this is a good idea or a waste of time

Having a gap years before the university continues to be a controversial topic among people. some students prefer to study continuously while others choose a gap to experience a job or travel. There are several arguments on both sides which I will be discussed in the following essay.

On the one hand, Opponents of the gap year believe that these will be circumstances of cause in youth like planning unnecessary travels or getting involved in dangerous works. For example, doing drug dealing in some works, they put their lives in danger as a result of which they can not continue their studies. Moreover, due to some financial issues like accommodation and living expenses they need to borrow money which will force them to get stuck in their job and never pursue the previous goal. Furthermore, earning money, young people may be distracted from university life because of such a pleasant experience.

On the other hand, supporters point to the cost of living which can not be deniable in recent years especially in metropolitan cities where they should deal with the cost of routines there. For example, paying university high costs, low-income families and the youth need at least a gap year for preparation. Finally, getting work experience in a related major could be beneficial to some students in the university. For example, working in some construction companies, students who will graduate from the architectural major in school are likely to learn university lessons faster and more tangibly.

In conclusion, I strongly agree with those who believe that having a gap before university is more beneficial and I believe that this outweighs the disadvantages which will provide them with an opportunity to change their lives and think about their future career.