In many Western countries, there is an increasing number of couples choosing to have no children. What are the advantages and disadvantages of having no children?

Nowadays, it is obvious that there is a phenomenal upsurge in the number of couples who have a choice of having no children especially in western countries. Whereas people can reap plethora of benefits from this, they also have to face up to several potential hardships.

To commence with, being childlessness is definitely able to benefit the couples themselves and the society as a whole. Initially, childfree couples may find it so wonderful to be capable of developing themselves such as pursuing their career and their own interests along with spending more time on self-care. In addition to that, being a happily childfree newly weds also mean that they have no worry about some problems of bringing up a child including financial difficulties, or the way to successfully raise a child in this modern world. Secondly, in respect to the society, a sharp fall in the birth rate definitely can exert a profound impact on the development of the nation in sense that it can make a contribution to diminish the seriousness of overpopulation. As a result, in all likelihood, this will address some social problems including the burdensome pressure on education and medical healthcare together with other public services. Besides, there is probability that this can lead to a significant fall in the crime rates.

Despite the above mentioned benefits, there exist some shortcomings. The large number of childless men and women is considered the main cause of an aging population, which can bring two potential hardships. First and foremost, the issue of the lack of high qualified workforce makes it impossible for these countries to evolve stably and prosperously. Furthermore, another noteworthy point is that the government has to invest a big fund of money on social welfare for the older generation. It is essential for them to provide those retirees or the unemployed with adequate facility and conditions to survive.

To sum up, there is no denying that permanent childlessness can have both positive and negative impact on the spouses themselves and the society.