Many young children have unsupervised access to the internet and are using the internet to socialise with others.

What problems do children face when going online without parental supervision?

How can these problems be solved?

these days, a lot of children are not being supervised when using the internet and are using the internet for communication purposes. And this certainly contains various threats to children. when children have unlimited access to the internet, they encounter numerous issues such as cyberbullying and being exposed to things that are not appropriate for their age and several actions can be taken in order to tackle these problems.

children face many obstacles when they have no control from their parents while being online. Firstly, they might become a victim of cyberbullying. Nowadays, it is obvious that many users have bad intentions and as a target they choose children: the most vulnerable part of society. For instance, these people can easily gain access to young children’s personal information and blackmail them. Secondly, children are forced to watch not suitable materials including violence, harassment, and crime scenes. this surely will have a negative impact on their future development.

parents should be in charge of preventing these problems. By limiting access to potentially dangerous webpages, they can minimize the possible damage. Modern technologies enable people to gain entrance only to safe sites. Moreover, this might be beneficial for children’s academic performances, since these websites are mostly educational. Another way of solving this issue is to directly interact with children and teaching them to differentiate between safe and dangerous webpages. Thus, they will be more attentive with social network if they have a better understanding.

In conclusion, it was demonstrated that though, having no parental supervision while using the internet may result in detrimental problems for children, they can be overcome. parents will be able to solve these issues by setting a limit to certain webpages and by providing ample information about the internet to their children.