Many young children have unsupervised access to the internet and are using the internet to socialise with others What problems do children face when going online without parental supervision How can these problems be solved

It is true that the advancement of technology has improved many aspect of people lives and helped brings people with social applications. With the current technology advancement, the youth can accidentally put themselves in a dangerous situations when they surf the web without parents or guardians supervised. There are several solutions I can think of that could help solve the problems.

Social media can be a benificial and crucial for teenagers daily life but can pose as a hidden threat that they might not know about. Mainly, with anonymity of the web, the youth could interact with many people on the web whether they are friends and family or a stranger they met online. People that they met online might not have good intention and could manipulate and induct teenagers into a gang or a cult potentially harm and scar them for the rest of their lives. For instance, heaven’s gate is a cult start in the early days of the internet and had brainwashed many adult and teenagers alike into their religious group. In addition, hackers are still prevelent on the web, with the thrive of technology has provided engineers with tools that could benefit society and also provided hackers with tools of their own to hack into a system. Malware and virus can disguised in many form on the web, the youth might be curious and accidentally install virus into their computer systems. For example, the infamous mydoom malware had caused sizeable damage on finace.

But there are several solution that parents and guardians could implement. Firstly, install a website extension that remove advertisement pop up on the web preventing teenagers accidentally click on them and allow malware and virus in. Secondly, parental figures could add an application preventing teenagers to go website that can pose a threat to them. Nowadays, there are many helpful application that guardians could install and forbid youngsters from accessing them. Finally, limit time that the youth could use the internet and social media to encourage adolescent spending more time with family and friends. So that, they could avoid strangers with bad intention.

In conclusion, various measures can be taken to tackle the problems of the youth surfing the web without parental figures supervised.