Many young people change their jobs and careers. What are the reasons for this? Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

It is true that a number of youngsters nowadays keep switching their jobs. This trend stems from a variety of reasons and in my opinion, while there are some drawbacks of this tendency, I would argue that these are outweighed by the benefits.

There are some reasons why the young changes their jobs and careers. Firstly, young people often have a desire to experience new, more challenging working environment. For example, many youngsters dislike the idea of having a steady or desk job and therefore, switch their career to seek more dynamic opportunities that can later prove more fulfilling. Secondly, job hoppers can acquire more skills. By trying their hands at different fields, people of young ages are likely to broaden their expertise and even have the chance to put their knowledge gained from previous employment into practice at the new workplace.

On the one hand, this trend brings about various drawbacks. Working in a new company with a different working culture necessitates a quick adaptation. If a fresh employee does not adapt himself quickly to changes, he will be under pressure and usually suffer from mental health problems, namely anxiety and stress. On the other hand, I consider that it is more beneficial for young people to change their jobs and careers. By switching from a job to another, a young employee can benefit from their expanded professional network. For instance, if a Vietnamese blue-collar who moves to an American-based enterprise from its branch in Vietnam, he will have countless opportunities to befriend with a number of international colleagues and thus, enhance his English skills and multicultural solid knowledge.

In conclusion, the young change their jobs and careers for many reasons and I believe that the merits of this trend have more than compensated for the disadvantages.