Many young people change their jobs and careers. What are the reasons for this? Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent times, courtesy of the erratic changes of society, job acquisition is of fundamental importance for people to catch up with those constant developments. Additionally, it is glaringly apparent that this phenomenon is exceptionally prevailing among young employees, which can be justified for a host of reasons. In this essay, the causes leading to this notion will be elucidated before drawing any further conclusion relating to the positive and negative facets.

To commence with, it is highly probable that one of the major contributions to the job-switching norm is by virtue of the significant ubiquity of entrepreneurship. Since the current labor job market may no longer offer assurance, many people strive to make money on their own by starting a new business. To cite an example, nowadays, there are several organizations founded to raise funds or invest in entrepreneurial ideas and creative innovations. As a result, employees who have an idea for a viable invention may have a chance to bring it to reality by embarking on the start-up journey. On the one hand, if the idea is successful, it can be advantageous for the entrepreneurs’ financial state. On the other hand, if the money goes down the drain, they could still accumulate a goldmine of experience for themselves.

Another factor leading to this phenomenon that is worth mentioning is the job market saturation. To specify, if a company has fully accommodated their customers with services and the customer acquisition opportunity is no longer high, they may strive to cut down on the remuneration of employees or even reduce the human resources. As a result, workers might have to switch to another job with a lower salary or less desirable promotion opportunities; thus, this can create a social prejudice towards those job hoppers. What is more, their employers may impose a thought of them not being able to make long-term contributions. By shedding light on these examples, it is crystal clear that switching jobs can be detrimental to their career prospects.

In conclusion, notwithstanding possible advantages for career switching, the negative downsides lurking beneath this norm are more considerable, such as employee termination or job instability. All things considered, I am of the viewpoint that the disadvantages of this notion have eclipsed the benefits it brings.