What are the advantages and disadvantages for children of watching television? Discuss both sides.

In recent times, society has witnessed an exponential increase in the number of people watching TV. As a result, youngsters also tend to spend more time staring at the television screen. This in turn can have several beneficial influences as well as possible downsides lurking beneath this norm. In this essay, both sides of the argument will be elucidated before drawing any further conclusion.

On the one hand, with a numerous range of programs and shows on different topics, watching television can help children expand their knowledge. One prominent justification for this is Discovery Channel, a prevail channel for those who have a keen interest in the subject of science or geography, as well as those who have a sense of curiosity about their surroundings. Another example worth mentioning is Da Vinci Kids TV, which can possibly spark within children a joy of learning history and help children taking a stroll through the mists of time. By watching channels that provide a reservoir of knowledge about different fields, children can broaden their horizons and keep themselves well-informed about the advancements of this world. Not only does this recreational activity can help children accumulate a myriad of knowledge but it also nurtures and cultivates within youngsters a number of worthy virtues. Watching shows like “Gifts of life”, a prevalent TV show in Vietnam that presents a number of lessons about altruism or empathy, can help children develop and bolster these traits.

On the other hand, it is undeniable that without parental guidance or restriction, children can possibly be drawn to brutal action movies or sports that are violent-engaging like boxing. As naive and curious individuals, youngsters might find it captivating to see a darker and more violent side of this world. As a result, possible fights and misbehaviors might happen by courtesy of the excessive amount of time staring at the television screen.

To recapitulate, watching TV can both be beneficial and disadvantageous regarding how children interact with this technological gadget. Notwithstanding the misbehaviors children may possess after watching movies that contain violence, good virtues can still be accumulated with parental guidance. All things considered, the benefits of this recreational activity outweigh the drawbacks it brings.