Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school.

Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent years, learning a foreign has received exponential attention from people courtesy of the benefits it brings. Therefore, people are having an oscillating opinion about whether their children should start learning a new language at a young age or later on at secondary school. In this case, many experts tend to gravitate towards the former for a number of reasons. In this essay, the benefits and drawbacks of this notion will be further elucidated.

To begin with, exposure to a new language other than one’s mother tongue earlier in life can help them to accumulate a sense of curiosity for the country of the targeted language. One prominent justification for this is that children are naive and constantly learning individuals, therefore, when they embark on the journey of learning a second language, they may nurture within themselves an enthusiasm for the tradition or history of that country, which can help to build up a reservoir of knowledge for youngsters. Another worth-mentioning reason is that learning languages can have a positive impact on one’s brain. By learning at such a young age, youngsters are used to taking in a large amount of information about grammar or vocabulary. By virtue of this, it is possible that bilingual children may receive better communication and analytical skill.

On the other hand, striving to become bilingual at a younger age can be exhausting. For example, in many countries, parents force their children to take many extra classes in order for them to fully achieve the language. As a result, children are snowed under several homework and exercises, which can be detrimental to their mental health. They might also develop a sense of disliking the language if they are not cut out for learning languages in general.

To recapitulate, many families have their kids being bilingual at such a young age as primary students and this can both be beneficial and disadvantageous. However, I firmly believe that the positive facet of this notion outweighs the drawbacks it brings with being influential and advantageous to one’s brain.