Many young people who leave school hold a negative attitude towards learning. Why does this happen? What are the solutions?

There is no doubt that more and more young people are having a gloomy outlook on the importance of education by the time they graduate from school. There are a variety of plausible reasons for this problem, but steps can obviously be taken to solve this burning issue.

On the one hand, there are a number of factors that lead to students’ nurturing negative perspectives on learning, the most plausible explanation lies in the fact that many students nowadays feel discouraged and exhausted after a long period of time studying and cramming lessons for their tests and exams. This forces many young people to develop hate and enmity against studying and have the intention of getting rid of all educational affairs after their graduation. Take Vietnam as an example, a massive amount of homework and tests are given to students every school year which is alarming out of their capacity, resulting in a majority of students giving up by the time they finish their basic curriculum. Another contributory factor to the problem is that many teenagers are believing in the concept of being successful without having to take high-degree courses. For instance, many students are looking to the mirror of Steve Jobs or Mark Zuckerberg as their models, which results in inappropriate views on education.

However, there are plenty of ways to tackle this problem. First and foremost, governments and educators should play an active role in making lessons more attractive to students together with reducing the pressure laid on learners. This will in turn motivate students to keep moving forward and curb the increasing trend of students giving up. In addition, it is essential to raise students’ awareness of the importance of education and provide them with sufficient support in orienting and pursuing their future careers through studying. By doing this, many teenagers will acquire a mental shift about education and will be more willing to study.

To sum up, the fact that many students are having a negative attitude toward learning can be justified by a variety of factors. It takes a great deal of cooperation and engagement from both schools and parents to tackle the situation.