Many young people who leave school hold a negative attitude towards learning. Why does this happen? What are the solutions?

In recent years, there was an increasing number of youngsters who disliked learning after graduation. From my personal perspective, the main reason for this above-mentioned phenomenon is the less interesting subjects at school, and this problem will be solved if the curriculums are redesigned in more appropriate ways.

To begin with, the negative behaviors of school leavers are mainly caused by tedious curriculums and unattractive teaching methods. Firstly, the curriculums of many subjects are mainly built based on the concentration on abstract knowledge and theories and the underestimation of student’s initiatives, so students are more likely to feel that the lecturers are more difficult, resulting in enormous pressure about study on those youngsters. Secondly, there are some rigid teaching styles that make students feel less motivated, especially traditional methods forcing them to follow an old and inflexible way of learning. A salient example of this is that a survey conducted in Nigeria found that students were less fond of lessons that mainly focused on theory such as linguistics and were delivered in conventional teaching methods. Therefore, subjects that are not interesting and impressive are the main culprits behind the adverse attitude towards learning in school droppers.

Furthermore, this issue can be solved if the approach to subjects is more appropriate. In detail, the practical lessons must be included in the curriculum so students have opportunities to put theory into practice. Moreover, another solution is to alter the teaching strategy by adding some recreational games and visual aids into lessons in order to stimulate the excitement in the classes. For example, after applying the new teaching methods and combining practical classes, students in Sweden achieved greater academic performance and they totally appreciated the knowledge they had learnt at school. Hence, these solutions are able to encourage students' delight in study.

In conclusion, impractical courses and conservative teaching ways are primary reasons for the poor opinion of school graduates about studying, however, this issue can be tackled by the application of down-to-earth projects and engaging teaching techniques.