The mass media, including TV, radio and newspapers, have great influence in shaping people's ideas. To what extent do you agree or disagree this statement? Give reasons for your answer

The media, I firmly believe, play an essential role in every modern society, either in developing countries or developed ones. The question, however, is whether the mass media sources such as Tv, radio and etc directly impact on people’s position or not. Despite popular belief, I am, to a huge extent, an advocate of the former approach.

Granted, media sources, from a practical viewpoint, are the vital means in order to advertising numerous products. Admittedly, these advertisements directly influence people’s perspective by some tricky strategies that they use to persuade people to purchase their products which is not neither useful nor valuable. Further and more importantly, we can mention the exquisite point that people feel that the media as a pastime which not only does provide a vast amount of information but also inform them about global issues and events that occur in faraway countries. Hence, the people’s idea is inspired either positively or negatively by the media. For instance political issues can trigger a heated debate among folks and shape their idea about especial country or warm.

On the other hand, different nations have various culture, nevertheless the media with some images in newspaper or some movies in TV affect their culture and tradition. That is why these days we can clearly see the assimilation between cultures, particularly among youth. As a classification we can point to the world renowned artists or singers such as Michael Jackson who has become a hero for a number of people and alter their attitude, style of clothing and so on.

All things considered, although everyone make a decision with their brain, I wholeheartedly would contend that there are some reasons which show that how much the media has great influence on us, particularly in terms of advertisement, news and programs.