Media surrounds us, from the shows we watch on television to the music we listen to on the radio.

How does media affect the society?

Do you agree that the impact of media has more disadvantages than benefits?

Modern technologies has contributed greatly in capability enhancement of the mass media creating favorable conditions for them to environ us. The means of communication own a huge potential of exerting an individual’s opinion about the crucial issues. I absolutely disagree to the point that the influence of TV, the Internet and radio sources is rather disruptive than auspicious for a permanent data consumer.

Mass media may influence the opinion about the burning questions starting from THE sociopolitical area finishing with THE pop culture. Such an impact may be disruptive as it prevents a person from shaping an independent point of view. However, individuals may also gain a plethora of new information due to the popularization of self-education via TV. For instance, according to the TASS, linguistic broadcasts on channel «Culture» has promoted a demand for foreign languages. Thus, the mass media possess many options of exerting their influence on people.

To my mind, the communications media’s effect on a permanent consumer is rather positive than negative. To start with, a wide variety of referral sources enables an individual to formulate a relatively detached opinion. Secondly, modern technologies allow to absorb sampled pieces of information which is significant in today’s pace of life. For example, according to Pavel Durov, Telegram has gained its popularity by virtue of capability to sort your own news line reducing the time on unwanted data. Thereby, to my way of thinking, the mass media own plenty of valuable features that outweigh any adverse peculiarities.

To sum up, media do exert influence on its users in many aspects commencing with molding opinion ending with apprising spotlight news. In spite of all THE drawbacks that accompany TV and the Internet, individuals reap more benefits than flaws from its utilizing.