To meet the growing need for food to support an increasing population, a country should make use of edible insects as a food source. However, some people believe that insects are not only unhealthy but harvesting them will also negatively affect nature. What are the benefits and drawbacks of eating insects?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

As the world population grows, the food resources become scarce and alternative source of protein starts to emerge. The use of insects in the human diet is already a reality in many easten countries and tends to spread worldwide. However, this new trend could lead to negative consequences towards the enviroment and human health.

From one hand, eating insects instead of all kinds of meat can pontentially help with the reduction of logging and hunger. It is very kwon that cast's creation is one of the main reason for deforestation and global warming. Opposely to casts, it does not require large grassland in order to cultivate insects. Another benefit of using insects as food, is could reduce the hunger in poorer countries. Insects are largely available and could be easily found in all kinds of geographic areas, differently from casts that need large green lands and big water reservatoirs.

From another hand, there are potentially drawbacks from this new change in eating habits, such as the urge of unkown disease and the umbalance in the enviroment. The humanity eats beef, poutry, and pork for many centuries, and several diseases arrised from this. However, these diseases were well studied and treatment has already been found. Since insects are relatively a new item in people's diet, it could lead to new diseases that do not have yet a cure. Moreover, it is yet unkown how this new diet would impact the enviroment. Insects helps with the polenization, soil aeration, and are part of the food chain of many animals. If we consume them in large scale, it could lead to animals extinction and nature unbalance.

The addition of insects in the human's diet is a new trend that has been adopted by many countries as a soluction for the reduction in food supplies. There is no way that we can prevent this form happening as the world population is constantly growing. However, caution needs to be taken to avoid that this new diet will not cause strong negative impacts in the florests, animals life, and human's health.