topic 27 : Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? People should sometimes do things that they do not enjoy doing. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

I imagine that enjoy life is a goal for everyone in this world and it is also a tendency in nowadays. However, sometimes we have to do things that we do not enjoy doing aiming further good consequences. These situations commonly appear at work, in the health selfcare scenario or in a family environmental. I will be exploring more about this subject in the following essay.

We have the freedom to decide in what we are going to work for, although for many people the options are not wide and they just have to find a work to survive, independently if they like it or not. Also, even those who decide to work with something they may like, sometimes they have to do somethings that they dislike. For example, I love to be a medical student and I believe I chose the right profession for me. During the years in the medical school, I liked most the clerkship period, that is because we are more in contact with the patients. Even if I love to deal with patients, it is not everything that I like to do, as changing bandages, reporting bad news, watch surgeries, etc. However, I have to do it because it is part of the work and it is the best for the patients.

Often, we are doing not very pleasant things aiming to have a better health. Nowadays, it is increasing the use of diets and physical exercises, that is because people are paying more attention to their health than to they “desires”. It is a fact that is more comfortable to be seated in front of a television or just reading a book at our free time . However, bigger amount of people are changing these habits to practicing sports. Sports and diets, for some people, may not to be more pleasant than resting at home or eating hamburger when you do not have a lot of time, but these certainly will improve the quality of life and health.

Lastly, a classical situation of abdicate the own wishes for a good reason is related to family. I do not have kids yet but I hear many people saying that starting of the day that you put a child on the world, you will have to stop to do many things that you enjoying doing in favor of the children. I believe that building a family is not bad idea, it gives a lot of work but it pays off. For example, parents are all the time changing appointments or leaving the work earlier because they have to pick the kids up from the school. They also deny friend’s invitations because there have plans booked with the kids which they cannot miss. However, these abdications is for the best for their children, which should be worthy.

In conclusion, I strongly agree that people should sometimes do things that they do not enjoy doing. It is part of the process of living and it is often related to a good cause. The life is not made only of good moments or by doing pleasant things, we have to be ready to face it for our own good.