Some people spend their entire lives in one place. Others move a number of times throughout their lives, looking for a better job, house, community, or even climate. Which do you prefer?

Nowadays, with the advance of technology and transportation, people can easily move through the world, to go and to come back just take some minutes to hours. This associated to the fact that by expanding horizons we get more opportunities, I believe that moving to different places during the life is totally positive.

There are many reasons that people decide to leave their hometown, such as completing the studies, looking for a better job, a warmer weather or a safer town. The decision of moving can be encouraged by the fact that the means of transport are very developed, which can allow you to visit your hometown more often than it would be possible last century, for example. I am a proof that leaving my hometown was an impulse for my career. I used to life in a small city on the countryside, which there was not a lot of study opportunities. When I was sixteen, I decided to move out my parents’ house to live in the capital of the province. My goal was to finish the college and get into medical school. It was hard to adapt to a life style totally different that I used to live before. It requires independency, maturity and hard work. However, it was totally paid off. Now I am finishing medical school and I cannot imagine myself living again on my hometown.

Besides the fact that moving to a bigger city is linked to the improvement of the professional career, it also helps on the knowledge development. Larger cities offer more opportunities to grow intellectually, not only because there are better schools and universities but also because there is a larger amount of leisure activities that are “brain developer”, such as museums, theater, libraries, concerts. For example, when I return to my hometown, I usually spend the time going to restaurants or to my friend’s house because there is not much other activity to do. In the contrary, at the capital I have plenty of options of leisure and I use to spend my free time going to a jazz concert, watching a new French movie on the cinema or a play in the theater that often discuss about important social subject as racism, female power, environmental care, etc.

Lastly, moving to different places introduces you to different cultures, new experiences and contact to diverse kind of society and visions of the world that finishes by opening your mind. We can do an allusion to the Plato’s cave to better understand it. If you live your entire live in a same city, you would believe that there is not more than what you are experiencing in there. In other words, you would believe that all the rest of the world it is similar to where you live. But, if you finally go out from the “cave”, you will discover a different world. Maybe the trees, sky and animals are the same. However, the life style, culture, points of views are never exactly the same from a city to other and these differences are even larger between countries. There are so much to see outside that once starting seeing it, the desire of discover more the world just grow.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that is very positive to move to different places during a lifetime. Besides opening many doors to a better professional career, it is also develops the intellect and opens the mind.