You are planning to study abroad. What do you think you will like and dislike about this experience? Why? Use specific reasons and details to support your answer.

One of my dreams is become a physician in Canada. One of the steps to reach this dream is to do an elective program in a Canadian hospital. The elective is a chance for international students to practice medicine as a student abroad, which includes having traditional and practical classes.

In one hand, it is a very positive experience, professional and social speaking. The elective offers the chance to know more about the health system in Canada, the most prevalent diseases that affect this population and how to manage those. In addition, the contact with patients would improve the medical and language skills, which are very important to become a doctor.

Moreover, Canada is a very safe country. I had visited Canada several times in the past and I was positively surprised about its security. The women can walk on the street at night, take the bus alone, use the cellphone and jewelry freely. Those actions would be risky in the Brazilian streets, because there is a high incidence of theft and violence, especially against susceptive people as women and elders. By being a student in Canada I would also benefit from its beautiful landscapes, such as mountains, lakes, water falls, large parks. Considering that I love practice outdoor sports, it would be a perfect scenario for me.

In another hand, being a student abroad is not easy at all. When you are far from family and your closest friends, you feel that no one is around to help you to pass through hard times. Besides that, you still have to adapt to a new society, lifestyle and weather. When all those features are put together can be a challenge experience. However, I believe that those disadvantages are temporaries and a new circle of friends will be formed, family can come by to visit you and the adaptation to the society and the cold weather will come over the time.

Thus, studying abroad can be very challenge but also very profitable. Over all, I believe is worth to try it.