Learning English at school is often seen as more important than learning local languages. If these are not taught, many are at risk of dying out.

In your opinion, is it important for everyone to learn English? Should we try to ensure the survival of local languages and, if so, how?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

For many years English has been considered as the universal language and an increasing number of people around the world are being pushed to learn it. As much as English is required in order to communicate with the world and a very appreciated asset in the curriculum, it also imposes the adoption of a western culture over the local one.

Nowadays, being fluent in English is almost a must in someone’s curriculum. It opens more doors for employment and serves as a ladder for professional success. It is quite known that companies tend to choose bilingual employees, especially those who are able to communicate in English. Also, English speakers are more likely to receive a promotion. This trend makes sense when considering that English is the universal language and we live in a global society. Multinational companies are spread all over the countries, and even many national companies are required to have relations with people abroad if they want to increase their profits. Thus, in order to succeed as a company in this global market, it is necessary to have employees able to communicate well in English.

However, having English as the world’s chosen language is not only beneficial. Firstly, when we adopt a new language, we also adopt new culture as a language is product of the society’s history and reflects its cultural aspects. For example, English is known as a straight forward language, as it is the Americans. Whereas French is a complex and charming language, same as the French people. There are more ways of describing different feelings in French than in English, and usually French sentences are longer than the English sentences. Lastly, as more importance is given to English as a language, the less-common-used dialects are left behind and the history and culture of that society start to be forgotten.

Thus, the globalization enhances the relationship among different countries and cultures, and English was the chosen language for a global communication. Learning English allows someone to relate with the most diverse kind of people, and this is a fantastic asset for employees of multinational and also national companies. The downside of giving abundant importance to English is that it forces the adoption of a western culture, and it eventually fades dialects and other cultures putting them in risk of extinction.