TOEFL ESSAY: Leaders like John F. Kennedy and Martin Luther King have made important contributions to other people of the United States. Name another world leader you think is important. Give specific reasons for your choice.

Usually important world leaders’ images are invariably related to their good gestures. However, there are some important leaders who are considered as such because of the negative impact on the society, an example is the current Brazilian president Jair Bolsonaro.

Brazil is facing a big economic crisis on the last decade. It creates a favorable field for the anguish to grow up. The international value of the Real, the Brazilian money, has dropped to less than half of its previous value. Stable companies started to lose their place in the market. Aiming to save money, many employers who worked in these companies were fired. This context helped on the increase of the social disparities that already had existed in Brazil. Due to those impacts on the society, citizens were willing for changes and they thought that making Bolsonaro president would overcome this situation.

In 2018, year of the last presidential election, Bolsonaro seized the opportunity to increase his popularity profiting over the bad economic and social scenario. His speeches were filled of proposals related to the “economic miracle”. By being the head of a conservative and military partisan, his ideas of improvement were linked to the privatization of the national companies, creation of barriers to the retirement, cut off social benefits and reduction of supply for public organizations, such as universities and hospitals.

Furthermore, Bolsonaro has a sexist and homophobic mentality. Here there are examples of sentences said by him: “if I see two guys kissing on the street, I would kick their faces”, “women have to win less the men”. In addition, he suggested to legalize the use of weapons arguing that it is for the self-defense. However, Brazil is a country very known for its unsafety and taking this action in a place where people are not enough educated to lead with such important liberation, it is a way to contribute with the arousal of the crime.

Although Bolsonaro is not considered an important world leader due to the good deeds, he is labeled as one because his actions may put in danger the Brazilian society. Unfortunately, leaders like Bolsonaro are being elected in countries facing important crises all over the world, which made me wonder: is the society of today prioritizing the economy over the human safety, values and rights? I prefer to not believe so.