It has recently been announced that a large shopping center may be built in your neighborhood. Do you support or oppose this plan? Why? Use specific reasons and details to support your answer

Usually, when a shopping center is installed, there are an improvement of economy, facilities and activities in the area, what make me favorable to the idea of living close to a center. However, there are also negative points related to it. I will be exploring these two opposite sides on the following essay.

On the one hand, a large shopping center develops the surrounded area, having mainly impact on the economy. Inside and around the malls there are many restaurants, stores, supermarkets, pharmacies, cinema, among other commerces. Due to the fact that the mall attracts people, all the commerce nearby also profits of the bigger circulation of people, leading to a good impact on the economy of all the neighborhood. Other positive point of having a shopping center in the neighborhood is the increase of leisure options, such as cinema, play stations, theater. In addition, it would be more practical if you need to buy something on hurry. For example, if you are needing a medicine, you can just go to the center, where may have a pharmacy. Or if you forgot to buy an ingredient of a recipe, you can just go to the supermarket, that is also over there. All these facilites make people to win time and improve quality of life.

On the other hand, the fact of increasing circulation of people is direct related to the increase of traffic, pollution and noise. There a circle: big amount of people coming to a specific area will create more traffic, what pollute the air and make more noise. Also, more people will likely throw garbage on the streets and also create more noise. However, the shopping center construction is normally simultaneous to the improvement of security and cleaning service as the construction of new routes nearby, what minimizing these problems.

In conclusion, I support the ideia of having a large shopping center on the neighborhood. The benefits of having more facilities, recreation and economic developed are bigger than the possible harms.