Some people like to communicate by email and voice mail. Other people like to communicate by telephone or face to face. Which type of communication do you prefer and why.

In spite of the communication by telephone or face-to-face be the best way to solve an urgent problem, I believe that communicating by email and voice mail is generally a better option. There are three reasons why I have this preference.

Firstly, we tend to be more careful when writing by email. This is because we have more time to think in what we are going to say. Also, we chose better the proper words which may not be possible in a conversation by phone or face-to-face since these require a prompt answer.

Secondly, communicating by email is a good option for those who are timid or in situation that usually let us a little shy and uncomfortable, such as talking to the boss or other superior. It is common that people “freeze” before their superior or someone whom they do not have intimacy. When a question is directed to them, their answer can sound bad or can be cut because of the feeling of nervousness or shyness. However, if the talk is made through email or voice message, this person can take the time to think in what he/she is going to answer and correct the text or audio many times as they judge to be necessary.

Other benefit of email or voice mail communication is you can search for information before you answer. For example, if you are asked to do a task that you do not master but at the same time you do not want to give the impression that you do not how to do it well, a time to do a research about the subject or to ask the help of someone of your trust can be very useful. Then, after to have collected all the information needed to define the ability to do the task you can answer the email properly.

Ergo, I am convinced that communication by email and voice email are better than doing it face-to-face or by telephone, specially in situations that required more time to produce a good answer or in situation that makes the person uncomfortable. In addition, this type of communication allows to choose proper words to give the answer, also time to search for unknown information if necessary.