Missions to explore space are hugely expensive, and there are problems on Earth which demand attention. The number of these missions needs to be reduced.

Do you agree or disagree?

Many people argue that instead of wasting such a huge amount of money to space exploration missions, we should shift the investment to address existing problems on Earth. I strongly agree with this statement since decreasing the number of space missions would result in various advantages.

Firstly, less investment in space missions allows more urgent global problems could be solved. Many researchers have pointed out some emerging issues with our world today, notable famine, illiterate and environmental pollution. These problems could be resolved with the cost lower than planning for outer space missions. Recently, a prestigious magazine has interviewed some economists and made a simple calculation which shows that we could wipe out an epidemic and supply enough clean water for Africa just by canceling only one space mission.

Another point is that many nations joining the space running just because it would deliver certain political advantages. This leads to the fact that governments collect taxes from citizens but use them inefficiently and haven’t focused on their countries’ needs. Fear of lagging behind in exploring space, various developing nations have joined by starting their own missions. However, these missions were not promising and as a consequence, brought a huge debt to nations, making their economic performance worse. This failure has brought serious social conflicts between the government and its people, which in some cases, resulted in violence and strikes to protest against continuing space missions.

To sum up, although space exploration could lead to significant scientific discovery, it is a better use of money to invest less in those missions and shift our focus to other current emerging problems.