Modern forms of communication such as email and messaging have reduced the amount of time people spend seeing their friends. This has had a negative effect on their social lives.What extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and includ

Nowadays, more people prefer rather online communication than personal meetings. It seems that this tendency has only drawbacks for people’s social life. However, it might have also some benefits. Both sides of the problem will be discussed.

On the one hand, online communication allows people to be in touch with their remote friends who live in other cities or even countries. Indeed, today people have the opportunity not only send e-mail messages but also have video conferences for free via special programs or social networks. Another key point that online form of communication does not need of precise time for answering or meetings. In this case, if one does not have enough time for communication, a person will be able to send a message at the appropriate time.

On the other hand, non-personal communication might be the reason of diminishing one’s borders. In particular, people do not gather, so they do not discover new places for entertainments or location within their area. In addition, owning digital correspondence as the only form of communication has a risk to lose or deteriorate some skills for face-to-face meetings such as verbal ability, a body language etc. As a consequence, it might affect their professional career, for instance, if they have to have a public presentation.

In conclusion, the modern technology is becoming to have more implication that it was in the past; therefore, forms of communication are changed as well. The dwelling of personal meetings might cause some problems such as losing essential skills for this or staying in one’s comfort zone.