In the modern world, the image (photograph or film) is becoming a more powerful way of communicating than the written word.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Our world is progressively evolving day by day in diverse fields to make human life more comfortable and modern. The photography and movie industry is striving to make the image become a dominant communication compared to the written word. I cannot deny a bunch of its benefits that entertain our life and make it easier, but the words still have its own invisible power.

Obviously, as an ancient adage said “A picture is worth a thousand words”, people always feel easily to understand and memorize what they can observe even just a glance rather than description of dozens of pages with full of words. This is the reason why the atlas of human anatomy was created with elaborate drawing pictures to help medical student able to visualize position of muscles, arteries, veins or nerves in different organs. Moreover, the movie industry has remarkably developed in transforming a romantic novel or even a science fiction onto widescreen. Therefore, the audiences can entirely marvel and immerse themselves in the footages without struggling figure about how it looks like or how it happens.

Nonetheless, only the written words can have transparent potentials which lead readers to use their creative thinking following in every single word. Each human being deems to be a specific individual who has their own imagination and point of view towards the same event. For that reason, it must be more fascinating when the readers experience the lines in their own way, such as feeling of the pain and the happiness, but not the scenes or images molded by the director.

In conclusion, advancement of the image helps people to catch the outcome from education as well as entertainment industry effortlessly. However, with the written word, reader will not be limited their own creative ability.