In modern world there is a movement away from written exams to more practical assessment. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this trend.

Modern educational systems are moving away from written exams to implementing new methods such as practical exams. Although, this is a stepping stone in revolutionizing the training system to be more efficient, there are both positive and negative sides to it which I will discuss below in brief.

One of the advantages of practical tests is that pupils’ knowledge will be evaluated based on their deep understanding of the concept rather than their memorization abilities. In the conventional method of assessment, students who had strong memorizing skills would typically be more successful than their classmates. However, the new method ensures that pupils who understand the subject profoundly can outperform the exam using their practical knowledge. Secondly, substituting practical exams with the written tests is an effective way of gaining hands-on skills for teenagers. Therefore, they will achieve more success in their future’s career.

On the other hand, practical assessments can pose more stress due to their inherent erroneous nature. For example, a student has a very limited time to create a formula for his chemistry test. Given the situation, if a fault happens in the laboratory measuring equipment or if he drops the jar inadvertently, he will fail the test regardless of how knowledgeable he has been in chemistry. In addition, hands-on tests are more time consuming, especially for certain biological subjects such as microbiology, and they require enough equipment for all students to be assessed at the same time. One way to tackle the abovementioned shortages is by allocating more budget to the educational systems to re-new all laboratories with new and accurate equipment and to provide enough supplies for every student.

In conclusion, the modern world requires modern methods of teaching and examining young people to equip them better for their future career. Although novel methods of evaluation have still drawbacks that need to be addressed, they offer advantages to the obsolete methods. However, more resources and planning should be allocated to improve the newly developed methods.