More and more companies allow their employees to work from home or “remotely” rather than going into an office each day.

Do the advantages of this policy outweigh the disadvantages?

Modern technology allows many people to communicate and collaborate in ways that make reporting to an office unnecessary. Even though working outside an office environment may negatively affect productivity and efficiency for some workers, the benefits of flexibility justify these drawbacks.

Undoubtedly, some people will be happier and more productive working in a traditional office setting. Without a space optimized for work, some employees will be less efficient. In an office, basic supplies like paper and printers are always available. A support staff is there to offer help with daily tasks and technical problems. Additionally, working remotely can make it difficult for some workers to separate themselves from distractions like pets, kids, and other non-work tasks. The simple fact is that some people require an office environment to thrive.

Nevertheless, for those who can avoid distractions and remain focused, remote work be an invaluable perk. The simple but profound benefit is flexibility. Life and work do not always line up perfectly. For employees with families, being able to work from home might allow them to drop off and pick up their kids at school each day, or attend an important event like a musical concert. For others, flexibility means they can log out in the middle of the day to get some exercise at the gym. Finding balance between work and home is a major obstacle for many in the modern workforce. Too many people simply can’t manage all of their competing responsibilities, and they get burned out. From a company’s perspective, offering the opportunity to work remotely could prevent talented employees from quitting or getting overworked.

For these reasons, employers should offer their workers increased flexibility to perform their duties remotely whenever possible. Employees will be happier and more productive because they can find balance in their lives, and this will almost certainly have a positive impact on the company’s bottom line.