Some people think that the most important thing about being rich is it gives a person the opportunity to help other people. Do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that rich people should use their money to lend a helping hand to the less fortunate. Although this view is so good, I believe that it is absolutely not their responsibility.

To begin with, I will cite a great quote from Jack Ma is " the wealth is not how much money you own, but how much you can help the society". Therefore, a person becomes wealthy, they can create benefits for society. They can help poor residents approaching to essential needs such as clean water, foods, education and health care. Take the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation as an example, it is the largest private charity in the world, with the aim of improving health care and reducing global poverty. In addition, billionaires can spend their finance to reduce the burden for their authority. For example, during Covid-19 pandemic, the " technology giants" have sponsored money and medical equipment for government American to control disease situation in the country.

On the other hand, despite the undeniable positive social impacts created by helping people and invest in philanthropy. In order to become the upper-class in society, most people have to overcome countless difficulties and try very hard to gain their wealth. Hence, it is reasonable that such individuals would want to enjoy their life to make up for those tiring days of hard work. For example, wealthy people can do numerous things such as travelling around the world, eating in luxurious restaurants, or even purchasing jewellery or houses. Such activities can be seen as proof to prove that their hard work does pay off.

In conclusion, I think that the most important thing about being rich is that it enables people to experience more things in life. Although supporting others is socially beneficial, it should be optional.