More and more couples are deciding to be "child-free", to have no children, in other words. Some people claim that those couples reach this conclusion through entirely selfish reasons. While others think that they came to this decision through noble motives, such as concern about overpopulation and desire for independence. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In this day and age, couples tend to have no children. While some people state this issue mainly dues to selfish reasons, others believe that this conclusion is decided by motivations. In this essay, both sides will be examined and I will give my opinion afterward.

On the one hand are people who claim “child-free” is caused by egotistically. The main reason for this belief is the tension of child-rearing. Some people are fed up with cry baby as well as the sound when babies cry which made them feel so annoyed. Furthermore, a child can be very stubborn and aggressive and people are not patient enough to look after. Another reason is bringing up a child waste lots of things including time, money, and energy as well. For instance, instead of educating a child, couples can spend time travel around or focus more on their work and “child-free” is also a way to reduce financial burden.

On the other hand, people believe that may noble motives are taken into consideration to decide on this issue. Overpopulation is thought to be one of the reasons since the total global citizens are increasing rapidly, which has reached 7.8 million this year. “Child-free” is a way to reduce the world population as well as cut down too much pressure on the environment. Moreover, the desire for independence is widely believed to be a crucial cause. People need their private space and prefer to achieve their goals which can hardly be done when taking care of a child. In fact, meaningful motivations are checked before deciding this problem.

In conclusion, both sides have their own merits. On balance, I, however, tend to believe the latter reasons since I think there should be worthy reasons for this issue.