Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement.

To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

Indeed, people do not recycle enough their domestic waste and because of that legislation must be adopted to help this situation. In my opinion, I partly agree with this opinion.

To begin with, it is widely experienced that legal requirements would strictly reduce waste. The government could adopt the policy of classification trash into different categories. China, Korea, or Japan have strictly adhered to this regulation. There should be punishments for people who disobey the law. These measures would act as a deterrent and afterward encourage people to obey the law requires to recycle the waste of their households. The policy, consequently, could improve the habit of recycling of homeowners and create a waste-free environment for everyone.

However, I believe the government could do more than introduce recycling law. Firstly, rather than punishments, authorities should educate more. For example, students should be taught about recycling at school, and competitions or events must be held to help them put what they learned into practice. Moreover, the investigation into infrastructure for recycling should be done. The government could place bins in public places or install a separate machine in case homeowners do not classify trash correctly at home. In these situations, local and national authorities could call for businesses to help them with the facilities as well as sharing burdens. These measurements will effectively help to improve the situation and reduce a significant amount of waste.

In conclusion, besides introducing legislation on recycling, education and facilitated installations must be adopted to help recycle domestic waste in the long run.