Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment.

Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

In the modern day and age, sentence related to crime is such a controversial issue. While many people believe there should be fixed punishment for each type of crime, others claim that circumstances and motivation should be accounted for when deciding a castigation. In this essay, both views will be examined and I will then give my opinion.

On the one hand, some argue that fixed punishments are vital and essential. The main reason for this belief if those fixed punishments help discourage committing crimes since these punishments are harsh and the culprits are usually behind bars or serve a death penalty; therefore help significantly reducing crime rates. Another reason to support this argument is that processing times of courts and trials will be also declined remarkably since there are pre-defined punishments for each type of crime

On the other hand, people who believe fixed punishments cannot always be applied when deciding on a sentence and circumstances, as well as motivation, should be taken into consideration. This is mainly believed since not all people willingly commit a crime or they are forced to commit that crime. Self-defense, for instance, should not be considered as a crime because the victims just try to protect themselves from the criminal and then commit manslaughter. In this case, people are not sentenced to murder and should be freed with impunity. Another reason for this is that someone who breaks the law, is a psychopath, should be treated in a madhouse instead of serving a harsh sentence in prison.

In conclusion, both sides have their own merits. On balance, I, however, tend to believe that circumstances and motivation for committing a crime are crucial since there are several exceptions for culprits.