As most people spend a major part of their adult life at work, job satisfaction is an important element of individual wellbeing. What factors contribute to job satisfaction? How realistic is the expectation of job satisfaction for all workers?

Since a majority of adults spend considerable time at work, job satisfaction becomes a vital factor of individual wellbeing. In this essay, I will examine elements that contribute to job satisfaction and then address whether the expectation of job satisfaction is realistic or not.

To begin with, many factors should be taken into account when achieving job satisfaction. The most common element often regards with passion for the job since employees believe that what they are currently doing is associated with their talent and ability. Thus making them feel they are performing well. Secondly, job satisfaction is also believed to be inherent in expected and fair compensation as the feelings of underpaid can lead to resenting bosses and looking for other jobs. Moreover, working environment plays a major part in contributing to this satisfaction which is usually thought to have promotion for higher salaries.

However, not every workers is truly satisfied with their occupation. Even though salaries are considered to be aligned with satisfaction, it only lasts for an amount of time. As soon as employees figure out they are forced to work under pressure to meet the needs of the costs of living, they are not happy with their jobs anymore. Furthermore, the worldwide economic crisis contributes to unemployment and people, therefore, have to do the work they do not grow fond of. Such situations act as a bar from people achieving fulfillment in the area of jobs.

In conclusion, I believe many factors contribute to the satisfaction of jobs. The expectation of job satisfaction, however, does not always seem realistic for all workers.