t is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behaviour to children?

It is true that distinguishing between right and wrong is initially essential. While I accept that punishment might play a vital part in these situations, I believe that parents and teachers should choose proper ways to punish their children.

To begin with, punishments have great impacts on changing the awareness of children. They are used mainly when children tell lies and could help to eliminate bad behaviors. For instance, students who usually play truant are instantly punished. This method is used not only to stop this wrong activity but also to keep children under strict discipline. Additionally, sometimes children may misunderstand the words in parents' reprimand and keep making mistakes again. In these cases, punishments are vital in helping them realize the wrong and right side of the problem.

Nevertheless, punishments may take effect, some strict or physical castigation may have negative influences on children's psychology. In these cases, I believe educational punishments can fully take their advantage. For instance, instead of spanking, parents can reduce the time their children use technological devices as well as force them to do housework. At schools, teachers can punish students by telling them to take care of the garden or clean the classrooms and schoolyards. These are efficient ways to educate children rather than physically rough treatment.

In conclusion, in spite of the importance of educating children between wrong and right through punishments, more appropriate methods should be applied in these circumstances.