Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Some experts indeed claim it is beneficial for children to take up a foreign language at primary school. In this essay, both sides of this matter will be examined and I will give my opinion afterward.

On the one hand are people believe in the benefits of learning languages at a very young age. This belief is mainly due to the golden age of children, when students are smart and capable to acquire new knowledge. It is also shown that during this period, verbal ability developed significantly which helps children to be able to pronounce correctly the vocabularies and thus speaking fluently. Many countries have adapted bilingual; teaching in elementary school and children there can speak their second language as smoothly as their mother tongue.

On the other hand, it is also possible to make the opposing case. Still, there are undeniable drawbacks of learning languages in the elementary stage. The first weakness is the concentration of children when studying which curbs the procedure of children. Furthermore, some students have difficulties in studying their mother tongue. Therefore, it will be more difficult for them to take up another language. This could result in not able to speak neither mother tongue and other languages as well as creating misunderstanding when using those languages. For instance, in my country, most students go to 'international schools' and are not able to use their mother tongue neither understanding English, despite their fluency in speaking that second language.

In conclusion, it is possible to take up languages at the elementary stage. On balance, I, however, tend to believe children can put off learning this after having fluency in their mother tongue as the drawbacks outweigh the good points.