Some people say History is one the most important school subjects. Other people think that, in today’s world, subjects like Science and Technology are more important than History.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

While a majority of people believe History is a vital compulsory subject of at school, others assert Science and Technology are more necessary for students in this high-tech society. In this essay, both points of view will be discussed and I will give my opinion afterward.

On the one hand, subjects such as Science and Technology are extremely essential. In this society, most of the jobs will be done automatically by robots and machines de to the rapid development of technology; therefore, students have to be equipped with enough knowledge to adapt alterations. Moreover, careers in the future require knowledge of technology such as computer science, because of that, learning these compulsive subjects would help people increase the opportunities for getting jobs and promotion. Furthermore, these subjects include mankind's endless effort of researching and their breakthrough, learning them is the learning achievements of human beings.

On the other hand, History cannot be overlooked. This belief is mainly since history is the root of mankind. Learning history is to learn the process of evolution and adaptation of a new world. This subject also helps people to know about their nation as well as their culture. It is undoubtedly that history plays a vital role in shaping the future as people always look back to learn lessons from the past. Besides, history helps students to improve their critical thinking as well since they have to put evidences and storyline of an event or a historic character down to compare whether he is guilty or deserves credit for his achievement.

In conclusion, both sides have their own merits. On balance, I, however, believe that history cannot be downplayed and need to be considered equally as other subjects.