More and more people are becoming seriously overweight. Some people say that the price increase of fattening foods will solve this problem. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

In recent years obesity has become major health concern across the world. Few believe that inflating the price of fast foods shall curtail the consumption and others considers this as a myth. In my opinion there is no real relation between increased price and lower intake, hence this can b solved by creating awareness and developing sense of individual responsibility towards health.

Firstly, people these days are ready to pay hefty amount on food to keep their taste buds happy, irrespective of the fluctuation in the price of such foods. Today several Global food giants are setting up their store across the world as a result this has provided ease of access and variety of dishes in the menu. For instance MCdonalds, Pizza Hut etc sell their products at high cost, still we could witness majority people queueing up for their turn. This supports the view that price has no influence on consumption of this fattening foods.

However there are few instance which has led to reduction in consumption by Increasing taxes on such products. The Tax rate are usually high on such eateries, this creates a sense of avoidance amongst consumers and resultingly, they curb their intake. As per the latest survey conducted by GST Department, with an increase of Tax by 10%, there is sudden dip in the sales of fast joint companies products in rural and Tier 2 cities. This seems to be effective but may not have impact across all the location and individuals.

In Conclusion, to break this habit there is need of creating the wave of awareness amongst individuals and its negative impact on the health rather than increasing the cost.