More and more people are suffering from health problems caused by a modern lifestyle which can not be treated with modern medicines. Some people think that a return to traditional medicine should be encouraged. To what extent do you agree?.

People’s habits such as sedentary behaviour and food consumption behaviour lead to several health-related issues which are incurable using western medicines. Therefore, people consider that indigenous healing method is a good way to deal with the health problems. To some extent, I believe that folk medicine is a good method to treat the illness. However, it is undoubtedly that some disease cannot be dealt with using the alternative healing method.

On the one hand, plenty of reasons can be offered to explain why folk medicine is one of the effective remedies. First of all, for centuries, the holistic approach has been proven to be able to cure various diseases. Chinese medicine, for instance, is widely known as one of the best treatments for physical and mental illness. Secondly, indigenous medicine uses harmless substances processed and produced using the traditional method. Most of the raw materials are boiled or roasted without adding chemical substances. Thus, no negative effects result from this type of treatment. Lastly, the sources of traditional medicine commonly derive from nature such as plants or animals that can be found in the surrounding areas. Turmeric, for example, is an effective drug for anti-inflammatory and allergy. Therefore, indigenous treatment provides inexpensive as well as safe medications.

On the other hand, there are some current illness occurring as a result of climate change such as avian flu or swine flu that can be healed using the traditional approach as this type of illness requires rapid treatment due to the fact that it has a short incubation period. Hence, the using of modern treatment for this type of disease is a must.

To sum up, alternative medicine is one of effective treatments to deal with health problems. However, for a certain type of disease, scientific medicine is the only option of treatment.