More and more people in the city live in homes with small spaces or no outdoor areas. Do you think it is a negative or positive development?

The number of people living in an urban area with small sized homes or homes without yards is increasing nowadays. While I agree that this trend can be detrimental, I believe that it can also have some positive effects.

On the one hand, living in a tiny and cramped space can be quite uncomfortable. People living in such small homes may like to have much furniture to relax, but lack of space does not allow them to buy such products. A king-size bed, a big sofa, or a television with a big screen, for example, has no place in those homes. Also, it would be too difficult to have guests who like to sleep over because those homes do not have extra rooms or beds most of the time. Above of these, by living in such homes there is less chance to do aerobic and anaerobic physical exercises as there is not enough room for sports equipment.

On the other hand, small sized accommodations may have some advantages. Firstly, it is much easier to keep those homes clean as fewer people live there. Secondly, utility bills are cheaper in those homes because regularly, small homes do not have huge appliances that consume too much energy or water. Finally, people living in these homes can go to public gyms to do physical activity. If they do so, they would probably be more socialized as they have more chances to communicate with others who are doing exercises.

In conclusion, I think living in a small living space can be considered a positive development from a specific point of view and a negative change from a different perspective.