More and more people in the city live in homes with small spaces or no outdoor areas. Do you think it is a negative or positive development?

As a result of urbanization with overpopulation issues, numerous tiny accommodations without open surroundings have emerged rapidly. This has sparked off a tremendous quantity of residential areas in the metropolis zone. In my point of view, this development includes both dark and bright impacts on citizens.

There is no doubt that one of the positive aspects of this trend is its full adaption satisfying a range of users. Firstly, minute types of houses can be dependent on various personalities and lifestyles of owners. To illustrate, for typical characteristics of work, business people or university students rarely spent hours at home, apart from resting and short recreational activities. Therefore, possessing an adequate house is unnecessary as there will be a shortage of repair or cleaning, which creates a total waste. Second, as accommodation and properties are experiencing an upward tendency in modern society, owning a small residence is an affordable selection. This can be explained as fewer expenditures and extravagant requirements are needed in this kind of house, which is indisputably appropriate for working-class families or students. All in all, adaptive features and economic expenses in this pricey period are key positive aspects of small housing development.

On the other hand, it is true that the growth of small-size accommodation has provoked a bunch of issues related to the environment and human quality. In terms of ecological problems, the high demand for affordable houses raises excessive exploitation of land and the city’s natural features such as plants and lakes. As repercussions, the alarming rate of pollution and thermal problems occur with lethal heat periods and the disappearance of trees playing a vital role in reducing polluted gases in large cities. Furthermore, residents’ life quality in small houses, which are akin to captivity, is desperately awful. The lack of space for physical exercise encourage sedentary lifestyles, which is a key factor contributing to health problems, in accordance with worse air standard, and can cause fatal disease in residents. Negative consequences of small home development to residents’ health and lifestyle are likely to decrease life expectancy in modern metropolitans.

In brief, both negative and positive sides which stem from the growth of small homes can occur, with the fact that the cons eclipse the better influence in this day and age.