More and more people in the city live in small space & without outdoor space. Do you think it is a negative or positive development?

With the increasing population of urban areas, more inhabitants must have to settle in cramped houses with no outdoor spaces for convenience and savings. In my view, this trend brings both positive and negative aspects, however, I believe its advantage outweigh the disadvantages.

Firstly, there is no denying the fact that when living in a tiny house without sufficient green space nearby, residents will lack the space for physical exercise. This reason indirectly contributes to the sedentary lifestyle of citizens and cause fatal diseases such as obesity, heart attack and diabetes. Furthermore, reducing the acreage of green spaces will impact negatively the atmosphere, as we know, plants absorb pollutants produced by vehicles and factories. As a result, the air in big cities is seriously polluted, affecting people's health. For example, the World Health Organization in 2014 estimated air pollution kills 7 million people each year.

On the other hand, the expense of living in major cities more and more expensive, therefore, many people decide to choose this kind of habitat because more modest space consumed means less money cost. In addition, there are some different reason such as lack of land and natural disasters that do not allow the construction of large houses. For example, Japan is a pioneer in the field of small houses because about 70% of the area is mountains and forests, living costs are among the most expensive in the world and this is the also country most influenced by nature from Asia.

In conclusion, I believe living in confined and non-outdoor space does have both pros and cons. Nevertheless, in the end, it is safe to say that leading a life in limited space seems to be more beneficial to city dwellers when it comes to good financial management.