More and more people want to own famous brands of cars, clothes and other items. What are the reasons for this? Is this a negative or positive trend?

ment?

Time is changing and so the way people tend to buy new things. Nowadays more people go after luxurious brands and spend a huge amount of money to purchase their products, such as automobile, and clothing. There are some specific roots behind this social issue, and I believe that it has certain negative impacts on society.

There are two main reasons why people like to buy luxurious items. Firstly, in some countries, buying expensive good shows higher social status. To put it differently, people believe that the more they buy high-priced products, the more they can show them off to others. Take Iran, which is the largest importer of expensive items in the world, as the most patently obvious example; in 2017, the Iranian spend approximately 1.8 billion dollars on purchasing luxurious automobiles, and clothing. Secondly, we can put the blame on celebrities. That is to say, celebrities, who are a role model for many young people, advertise different expensive brands on their social media. By the means of advertising these brands, they persuade young people to buy their items.

In my opinion, the drawbacks of this phenomenon outweigh its profits, and surely have some destructive effects on the society. First thing first, it causes wealth inequality between people. In other words, by the means of buying overpriced items, the rich will become richer and poor people will become poorer. Another impact on the society is that other brands will go bankrupt. More specifically, cannot sell their products, other brands will make insolvent.

In conclusion, although there are some reasons why these days more people are buying luxurious brand matters; from my perspective, it has destructive impacts on society.