More and more people want to own famous brands of cars, clothes and other items. What are the reasons for this? Is this a negative or positive trend?

It is common that many people are interested in buying products from famous brands. This trend happens because of some factors, and it can have some adverse impacts on individuals and society.

Many people like to purchase products from famous companies because of several reasons. Firstly, because these products are globally recognized for their quality, customers would not need to worry when they buy goods. As a result, the guarantee that what they buy performs well or has excellent customer services. For example, people who buy products from Apple could fix their devices anywhere in the world. Secondly, more people want to possess materialistic things to show off their status and wealth, which helps them feel more confident. For instance, many youths spend vast sums of money purchasing luxury cars or expensive watches, which shows that they are fashionable and cool.

However, this trend could bring a range of negative effects. First, because consumers waste a large amount of money on items with well-known names, these people would end up with thousands of dollars in debt. If they buy products from local brands, they would save more money. Furthermore, more people tend to buy products from big and famous companies, which leads to destroying small brands. As a result, these local brands could not sell their products. For example, Apple and Samsung dominate the phone markets in Vietnam, so Vsmart finds it difficult to buy their products.

In conclusion, more customers liking to purchase branded merchandise is caused by several elements, and this trend might bring about some impacts.