More and more people want to study at university, so competition of university places is increasing. Why do more people want to study at university? Is it positive or negative?

It is true that studying at university is becoming more popular among people, which cause more intense competition and strict assessment of enrollment. Many factors contribute to this phenomenon, and I believe this stream has both positive and negative influence on our society.

People prefer to study at university due to several reasons. Firstly, they are searching for better education. It is more likely for universities to have high quality educational resources including the faculty, laboratories and technologies. These enable students to have access to the frontier of some subjects or academic areas. Secondly, college campus provides students a better environment for studying, which will make them concentrate on their studies. Finally, more people who go to the university are aiming for the bachelor or higher degree. Usually, the degree certificate is a qualification of someone’s ability, which will make them become more competitive when hunting job.

Personally, I believe this phenomenon has two sides. On the one hand, it is advantageous to the society. More people chasing for college positions reflect their enthusiasm of the knowledge. As a result of this, it would be beneficial to promote the citizens’ knowledge as well as quality, and help to develop the human society in the long term. On the other hand, some negative effect should be considered. If the competition is getting too intense, it will cause too much pressure to most students, which may lead to some mental illness. And once some people fail to get the chance, they would have difficulties in their future life and career due to the competitive world.

In conclusion, the increasing competition of university places involved in many factors. Although it has both positive and negative effect, it seems to unavoidable due to the development of the whole society.