More companies have open working areas without walls and barriers in their desks.

Do the disadvantages of open-plan offices outweigh the advantages?

At the status quo, numerous methods and development have been taken place to encourage the productivity of employees. Open-plan offices are one of them. Associated with its beneficial results are the detrimental downsides of working in an open space. Both of them will be discussed elaborately in this essay.

On the one hand, concentration can be enhanced significantly due to the invisible pressure that workers put them under. In detail, sitting in a place where everyone is all busy with their tasks, and assignments, an untold rule will be created by the workers that they should also pay attention to their works. Furthermore, this environment is the best condition for bonding activities. Without any walls or barriers, interaction between colleagues would burgeon brilliantly.

On the other hand, distraction is the most prominent issue when it comes to open workplaces. For instance, in this working scheme, every sound made by all the officers would negatively influence their performances, even the smallest sounds such as typing, flipping papers to the noise from photocopying. Another drawback arising from that is privacy deprivation. Individual offices are operated based on the need for privacy which is one of the most basic needs of every employee. Consequently, underperforming would possibly occur when they are not able to work under the belief that every movement of them can be acknowledged by the others which usually does not true.

In conclusion, while an open workplace does provide workers with plenty of experiences, it is undisputed that it can not be applied for all due to the impossibility to tackle the enormous distraction and shortage of privacy. From my perspective, communal office’s demerits do outweigh its advantages and a traditional workplace would be more appropriate for everyone.