More people decided to have children in their later age than in the past. Why? Do advantages of this outweigh disadvantages?

In modern society, there has been a growing concern associated with delayed parenthood. This social trend could be ascribed to a number of reasons, and this essay will state that it is a negative rather than a positive phenomenon when it comes to parents’ health and generation gap.

There are a few reasons that could be given to explain the trend of giving birth at later stages of life. First of all, labour market is becoming more and more competitive, which demands dedication from workers, so parents prefer devoting to lay a sound foundation for their future career. In other words, children are born in great preparation with the stable income from their parents. Moreover, it is believed that children are raised better by older parents. Due to wealthy life experience and the willingness to have the parenthood undertaking, parents could offer their children with all-rounded development.

On the one hand, it is inevitable that children born to more prosperous and experienced parents can receive more comprehensive education, contributing to the society when reaching adolescence. In addition, parents also reap the benefits of this proclivity as not being interrupted by pregnancy and childcare in their first working years.

On the other hand, it is undoubted that health risks and the difference by age gag outstrip the aforementioned advantages. A significant point is women giving birth late are vulnerable to some serious health problems, becoming irreparably damage for the whole family. For example, female over 35 have a tendency to suffer from some health issues in the prenatal and postnatal period, such as excessive bleeding after childbirth. Another point is the jeopardy to the relationship between parents and children. Because life is constantly updated, older parents often find it difficult to follow the flow of youngsters’ life, leading to misunderstanding and conflicts. To specify, does the matter not only affect children mentally, but it also distort the validity of families, a vital part of society.

In short, the tendency to have children at a later age is caused by several reasons, such as competitiveness of job market. Moreover, I strongly fopine that the drawbacks of this trend outshine the benefits for reasons mentioned above.