The most important aim of science should be to improve people's lives. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is sometimes argued that the enhancement of society’s life quality should be considered the first priority of science. In my opinion, I completely agree with this view.

First and foremost, science could play a major part in curing diseases which are inherited and unavoidable with the help of genetic engineering technologies. This could be explained by the fact that the majority of human genetic maps have been intensively investigated, which has led to a deep understanding of the functions of individual genes. This would further allow scientists to eliminate unwanted genes or prevent undesirable gene clusters in a genome set. As a result, inherited diseases which have been devasting to many people and their families will soon be a matter of the past.

Another point worth mentioning is that replacements for body parts would be made possible for much-needed organ transplant surgeries. This is mainly because with the advancement of science, cloning human organs will be much more feasible, allowing more people to have access to body part replacements without having to withstand a time-consuming waiting period for a suitable donor. Consequently, by being able to have a transplant in a timely manner, human life expectancy is expected to be much longer than it was ever before.

In conclusion, for the reasons I have discussed above, I maintain that the most crucial purpose of science is to provide humankind with an advancement in the quality of life. It can be expected that in the near future, all human life will be extensively enhanced in all possible aspects.