Most people are not interested in how their food has been produced. They only care about how much it costs.

How true is this statement? What influences people when they buy food?

In contemporary society, it is generally believed that people are only attracted to the price of food rather than how it has been made. Personally, I totally agree with this statement. In addition, the following paper will be examining influencing consumers’ buying decisions when it comes to purchasing food.

For a variety of reasons, a great number of people, particularly those who have eight-hour jobs, prefer to choose cheap food without any notions of how they have been produced. Because of the hectic schedule at work, most employees would choose frozen or pre-cooked food in supermarkets or convenient stores as these products are ready for instant purchase. Another noteworthy reason is financial condition. In many countries, loads of families have low to medium income and thus, it is impossible for them to buy medium to high-pricing products. As a result, these people’s behaviours are shifted as they would go for cheap products or special promotion from the store.

Apart from the above mentioned practical concerns, there are several factors in addition to pricing that would highly impact customers’ buying decision. Nowadays, as the world has become a global village, people choose to follow a religion as an act to support their mental life. Consequently, it is compulsory to avoid consuming certain specific types of food, such as different kinds of animals. Futhermore there a small number of people who vary their food preference due to health condition. Particularly, some people might seriously consider the food ingredients as cosuming certain types of spices or raw materials will lead to alergy or even mortality. For instance, some individuals are incapable of absorbing MSG or gluten. Hence, when these people shop for food, they have to avoid products that contain these sorts of substances.

Taking everything into consideration, this reinforces my perspective that people only pay more attention to price tag rather than other aspects when buying food. Moreover, religion and health are the other two factors that greatly impact food buying decisions.