When asked to choose between a life without work and working most of the time, people would always choose not to work.

Do you agree or disagree with this?

Employment is defined as a person’s trade and is often associated with a significant amount of pent-up stress and underappreciated contribution. However, despite its setbacks, working tends to be an escape from one’s ordinary and repetitive life cycle. Therefore, I wholeheartedly disagree with the perception which favors a life without any work duties.

Although there exists a wide range of reasons to oppose a work-free lifestyle, the primary rationale is due to the dread and mundanity that life brings. Without work, people tend to lack the ambition and motivation that propel them forward in order to reach certain goals that they have laid out for their milestones. Subsequently, work offers people a sense of accomplishment and achievement which play a huge factor in developing their self-identity. Furthermore, the absence of work will turn an eventful life into a dull and tedious one which several individuals may undervalue and underappreciate. Consequently, work can be seen as an approach to get away from the monotonous life.

Apart from the aforementioned explanation, the desire for acknowledgement and contribution, a human nature, also attributes to the disagreement for this proposed trend. To elaborate, it is human nature to seek contribution to society for the trade of acknowledgement. Hence, without work, such ambition is inhibited and cannot flourish to the maximum potential. In particular, all lines of work, though however insignificant, have their own purpose and can make their own contribution to the community. For instance, doctors provide treatment and prescriptions to ill patients with the aim of diagnosing and curing their illnesses. In turn, this will offer them a desirable reputation and recognition from the people.

To recapitulate briefly, this reinforces my perspective that work should not be perceived negatively. Instead, it should be promoted and prevailed over a wearisome and monotonous life due to numerous merits it accompanies.